

Executive Advisory Board

Agenda

Thursday, 20 October 2022 2.15 pm

Smith Square 1&2, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ Executive Advisory Board Thursday, 20 October 2022

There will be a meeting of the Executive Advisory Board at **2.15 pm on Thursday, 20 October 2022** Smith Square 1&2, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ.

LGA Hybrid Meetings

All of our meetings are available to join in person at <u>18 Smith Square</u> or remotely via videoconference as part of our hybrid approach. We will ask you to confirm in advance if you will be joining each meeting in person or remotely so we can plan accordingly, if you wish to attend the meeting in person, please also remember to confirm whether you have any dietary/accessibility requirements. 18 Smith Square is a Covid-19 secure venue and measures are in place to keep you safe when you attend a meeting or visit the building in person.

Please see guidance for Members and Visitors to 18 Smith Square here

Catering and Refreshments:

If the meeting is scheduled to take place at lunchtime, a sandwich lunch will be available.

Political Group meetings and pre-meetings for Lead Members:

Please contact your political group as outlined below for further details.

Apologies:

Please notify your political group office (see contact telephone numbers below) if you are unable to attend this meeting.

Conservative:	Group Office: 020 7664 32	223 email:	lgaconservatives@local.gov.uk
Labour:	Group Office: 020 7664 3	263 email:	labgp@lga.gov.uk
Independent:	Group Office: 020 7664 32	224 email:	independent.grouplga@local.gov.uk
Liberal Democrat:	Group Office: 020 7664 32	235 email:	libdem@local.gov.uk

Attendance:

Your attendance, whether it be in person or virtual, will be noted by the clerk at the meeting.

LGA Contact: Amy Haldane 07867 514938 /amy.haldane@local.gov.uk

Carers' Allowance

As part of the LGA Members' Allowances Scheme a Carer's Allowance of £9.00 per hour or £10.55 if receiving London living wage is available to cover the cost of dependants (i.e. children, elderly people or people with disabilities) incurred as a result of attending this meeting.

18 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ www.local.gov.uk **Telephone** 020 7664 3000 **Email** info@local.gov.uk Local Government Association company number 11177145

Improvement and Development Agency for Local Government company number 0367557

Chairman: Councillor James Jamieson OBE Chief Executive: Mark Lloyd CBE President: Baroness Grey-Thompson



Executive Advisory Board – Membership Click here for accessible information on membership

Executive Advisory Board – Membership 2022/23

Councillor and Role	Authority		
Conservative			
9			
Cllr James Jamieson OBE	Central Bedfordshire Council		
(Chairman)	Central Dediordshile Council		
Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE (Vice	Warwickshire County Council		
Chairman)			
Cllr John Fuller OBE (Deputy	South Norfolk District Council		
Chairman)			
Cllr Robert Alden (Deputy	Birmingham City Council		
Chairman)			
Cllr Teresa O'Neill OBE (Deputy	Bexley Council		
Chairman)			
Cllr David Fothergill (Board	Somerset County Council		
Chair)			
Cllr David Renard (Board Chair)	Swindon Borough Council		
Cllr Kevin Bentley (Board Chair)	Essex County Council		
Cllr Abi Brown (Board Chair)	Stoke City Council		
Labour			
9			
Cllr Shaun Davies (Senior Vice-	Telford and Wrekin Council		
Chair)	Dhara an the Oithe One and it		
Cllr Tudor Evans OBE (Deputy	Plymouth City Council		
Chair)	Codling Porough Council		
Cllr Michael Payne (Deputy Chair)	Gedling Borough Council		
Cllr Georgia Gould (Deputy	Camden Council		
Chair)			
Cllr Anntoinette Bramble (Deputy	Hackney London Borough Council		
Chair)	President Borodgir Courtoir		
Cllr Nesil Caliskan (Board Chair)	Enfield Council		
Cllr Louise Gittins (Board Chair)	Cheshire West and Chester Council		
Cllr Andrew Western (Board	Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council		
Chair)			
Mayor Marvin Rees (Board	Bristol City		
Chair)			
Liberal Democrat			
3			
Cllr Joe Harris (Vice-Chair)	Cotswold District Council		
Cllr Bridget Smith (Deputy Chair)	South Cambridgeshire District Council		
Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE	Portsmouth City Council		
(Board Chair)			
Independent			



3			
Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	North Kesteven District Council		
(Vice-Chair)			
Cllr Hannah Dalton (Deputy	Epsom and Ewell Borough Council		
Chair)			
Cllr Paul Woodhead (Balancing	Cannock Chase District Council		
Member)			
Regional Representatives			
8			
Cllr Robert Stewart	LAB	WLGA	
Cllr Marc Bayliss	CON	West Midlands	
Cllr Matthew Hicks	CON	East of England LGA	
Cllr John Hart	CON	South West Councils	
Cllr Graeme Miller	LAB	North East of England	
Cllr Nicolas Heslop	CON	South East Councils	
Cllr Christopher Poulter	CON	East Midlands Councils	
Cllr David Baines	LAB	North West Regional Leaders' Board	
Named Substitutes			
Cllr Ralph Bagge	CON	South East Councils	

Non-voting Members of LGA Executive

Councillor		Representing
Alderman Sir David Wootton	INDE	Local Partnerships
Sir Stephen Houghton CBE	LAB	SIGOMA
Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen	CON	District Councils Network
Cllr Tim Oliver	CON	County Councils Network



Agenda

Executive Advisory Board

Thursday, 20 October 2022

2.15 pm

Smith Square 1&2, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ

	Item	Page
1.	Welcome, Apologies and Declarations of Interest	
2.	Lobbying Document (second despatch)	
3.	Membership, Terms of Reference and LGA Governance Structures	1 - 6
4.	2022 Autumn Fiscal Event (second despatch)	
5.	Anticipated upcoming key issues for housing and planning	7 - 18
6.	Climate Change	19 - 28

7. Minutes of the previous meeting

Date of Next Meeting: Thursday, 8 December 2022, 1.30 pm, Smith Square 1&2, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ